Review of Asics Gel-Hyper Tri 3

thumbnail_IMG_8432As part of the UK Asics Front Runner team I get to try out and use some really nice products. When I joined the Front Runner team I changed my running shoes to Asics. I have only just started to use the Hyper Tri’s which are a neutral shoe and I have been really impressed.

At first when receiving the shoes I thought the plain black colour was basic, however the yellow/light green on the bottom of the shoe and tongue makes it hugely appealing. I feel that they have been made even better by changing to the spare laces which are yellow/green – makes them look very flash.

But it’s not the design colour that appeals to me, as this can be improved. I like the hole in the middle of the tongue that a normal shoe does not have. For Aquathlons and Triathlons, transition is really important and a few seconds can be the difference of a podium place. My old race shoes were a huge struggle to get on and what I notice with the Hyper Tris is that they are so easy to get on, even with wet feet because of the tongue. So far in races, this has knocked off seconds from my transition time and has given me a speed advantage.

However are they any good to race/run with? They give you a speed advantage in transition and they feel so comfy without socks on, which make them perfect for Aquathlons and Triathlons. Furthermore, the front of the shoe does not have hard material which cuts your toes up. If that wasn’t enough the 6mm heel-drop and at a weight of only 190g make this a speed demon shoe. I am impressed how light these are, I compared them to my old running and race shoes which I thought were light and the Asics were lighter.

I have been using them in my speed training and in my last Aquathlon. I will be wearing these at the World Aquathlon Championships in August. My conclusion is if you want a fast, light weight shoe for your Aquathlons or Triathlons then The Asics Gel-Hyper Tri 3 are the ideal shoe.

thumbnail_IMG_8321

 

 

Leave a Reply

